h1

Spring Dragon, Mechanical Bird Concepts

February 13, 2011

I realized after making my last post that I never posted finished photos of the spring dragon here! He is the final piece in the series, aside from the large forest emperor sculpture that is in the works.

Be sure to stay tuned this week for more information on that project. I will be launching a kickstarter project shortly to help raise funds for the completion of the sculpture. Everyone that provides financial aid will get a reward depending on the amount given. These range from signed photos of the final piece to mini photo books documenting the creation of the piece to sculpted keychains to custom sculptures. I am even giving away the original maquette to the highest donor. I will post the information here once the project is launched.

I also finally scanned some of the concept sketches that I have been doing for my mechanical bird series. These will be sculpted full scale to their real life counterparts and will be lit with LEDs. The toucan will be the first piece. I think I have decided to stick to birds of the tropics for the final series.

Leave a Reply

