h1

Alpha Forest

July 11, 2010

In between sculpting sessions, I like to get my research and asset collection done for whatever project I am working on. That way, I still feel like I am working towards the completion of my project but I also give my brain a break from the project at hand.

In zBrush, I like to use a combination of hand sculpting as well as alpha sculpting from photos. Here is a layout of all the alphas I put together for tree dragon. I probably won’t use all of them, but it’s nice to have a library to choose from. I will probably also use these on some other project one day.

For anyone that is unfamiliar, an alpha (in this case) is basically a texture brush. Wherever the white on the photo is, the higher the texture will be off the the face of the model.

Leave a Reply

