h1

Completed Forest Spirit

January 11, 2010



12″x10.5″x10″

He is finally finished and photographed, hooray! This guy has been about three months in the making. I have progress photos posted a few entries back for those of you that are new. This guy is sculpted out of a mix of Super Sculpey and Sculpey Firm over a rather intricate wire armature. The leaves are a fabric paper that I punched out with a leaf shaped punch. I then added in variations with paint and bending. The fine parts of the branches were done with floral tape and a few dry brush coats over top.

This guy is second in a series. Some of you may remember my original forest spirit that I did a few years back. I will be doing a spring and winter version in the future, just not any time soon. They all protect the forests and are docile creatures unless someones threatens their home. I will be modeling this guy in Maya soon and he will hopefully be rigged and animated by my friends! How cool will that be!

3 comments

  1. Wow. That is incredible!


  2. Wonderful!


  3. Absolutely beautiful. I really love the details, particularly the scales and jutting lower teeth. These sculptures are truly wonderful to see.



Leave a Reply

