h1

Painting Adventures

May 27, 2009

I started painting Dexter today. Skin tones are always difficult as skin is transparent, reflective, and everything else that is annoying. I start with a base color, about 3 coats of acrylic. I always use thin, watered down layers of paint to avoid a plastic-y look. I was taught to paint from the inside out when it comes to skin. Painting undertones is the key to realistic skin, in my opinion. I start by laying down thin layers of yellow, blue, and red. I then add in some white to “break up” the undertones to make the skin looks more random and realistic. I then use a unifying, thin layer of the original base tone to bring it all together. I basically repeat this process until it looks right…it’s pretty time consuming, really!

I included a photo of my pallet from today just to show how many different colors go into creating a skin tone. These colors also mix to create purples, greens, and oranges in the skin. They are all subtle, but they are there for sure. My husband kindly took a progress shot for me because I kept blowing the photos out with my flash! This is how far I got today, but there is still work to be done on the skin. Painting the stubble will be an adventure in itself!

My cart puller is nearing completion! Hopefully I will have finished photos of him by the end of the week. And Dexter should be pretty close as well.

2 comments

  1. Its looking really good so far, amazing job on the paint! Really great progress from a year ago, all this isolated practice has really paid off and its going to open a lot of doors for you.


    • thank you so much, xavier! that means a lot 🙂



Leave a Reply

