h1

Adventures in Wax

April 26, 2009

My husband says I should take better care of my blog….he is right! I am going to start using this for more progress reports and such. I guess I get so caught up in getting things finished, I sometimes forget that the process of getting there is just as important.

Today, I worked in Castilene wax for the first time since I started working at Full Sail (which will be 3 years in September!) I invited my coworker, Jessica, over to learn the process as she was interested. We had a lot of fun and got a lot of work done. I had forgotten how much I enjoy working with wax. It’s so much better than Sculpey…it’s just more inconvenient with needing a microwave, table space, etc. And also that you need to mold/cast to get a finished piece. I am highly allergic to casting resins so I shy away from that.

With the Castilene, I am working on a small bust of Hugh Jackman as Wolverine. I am going to be casting it in resin with a pewter finish, and I will give them out at Comic*Con as promotional items to possible employers.

The first photo shows my setup for wax sculpting. The microwave is used to melt the wax. Foil is used as a work surface. All the tools are metal. Pallet knives are a great help during the blocking phase. The cork board is used to display references. I also have a whole shelf of anatomy books that I use too. The third photo is a close up of some of the wax. It is an additive and subtractive sculpting medium.

The rest of the photos show the progress I made today. Sorry for that one blurry one, oops! I got a lot done today, but still a long way to go!

I have a completed sculpture on the way, as well as progress photos to go with it. I am also working on a bust of Dexter Morgan (Michael C Hall) which I have progress photos of. I am going to try to keep content spread out so there is something new to look at at least every few days.

To learn more about Castilene and to order wax, tools, and more, visit The Compleat Sculptor.

Leave a Reply

