h1

New Sculpture Uploaded

January 26, 2009

Punk Raptor

FINALLY! This guy is done!! I know my sculptures seem few and far between these days, at least compared to how much I used to upload. But I am really trying to spend lots of time researching each project, learning a bunch of new things along the way, and putting in as much detail as possible. I really am trying to make each piece so much better than the last, and trying to make each one portfolio ready.

I love the contrasting textures on this fellow. All the textures were done by hand with a few tools, no stamps or shortcuts. And yes, I do make each feather individually when I do this sort of thing. The wing feathers are on wires for support. I can’t even begin to tell you how many layers of paint I used, especially on the skin. Nothing straight out of the bottle though, that’s for sure! I tried a new method of painting I learned in my zBrush class, and I am happy with the results I got from it.

I am now hoping to go back to my zBrush model and get it looking better now that I have a better idea of what direction I want this character to go in. Hopefully I can finish that up in the coming weeks. I have also been working on my book again, and it should be done in time for Comic*Con, hopefully earlier.

4 comments

  1. I really love this one, all those individual feathers to creat! XD I especially love the pants though, they actually look like clothing (rather then spray on latex – which is what some other sculptures attempt at clothing reminds me of.) Did you make the base too? I love the cracked concert and bits of trash. It is the little extras that make this piece awesome.


    • thank you! yes, i did make the base.


  2. I have no idea why the damn RSS feed STILL isn’t working, but dear god, kindred, this is just amazing. I just…. Wow. I am at a loss for words.


    • i have always had problems with RSS feeds, they never seem to work right.

      thanks so much, i miss you!



Leave a Reply

